#DITLife: December 23, 2016 – Winter Break

This post is part of the “Day in the Life” project by Tina Cardone.

11:32am – I completely forgot to start this this morning so I’ll just recap it from here.

I got up at normal time, but since I’m catching a bus right after school I had to haul a suitcase and presents to school with me. So even though it’s chilly outside I was sweating by the time I got to the building. Went out to grab breakfast because we didn’t have anything at home and then made some copies.

During our first period meeting we talked about our plan for the first few days back from break. When I was a student teacher, Chris told me the smartest thing you can do is make sure you have the first day back after break already planned before you go on break. It really does save so much stress. And because of some changes in pacing we’re making, we’re actually planned for at least the first three, probably the first four days back. So when we do get back from vacation we can be ahead of the game and I can focus on the grading that I’m not taking home over break. Which is basically the 70 Algebra 2 midterms that we gave last week and I just haven’t had the time or energy to look at.

My IB Studies class was mainly just reminding them to turn in their introductions today and then giving them time to work, so the class was really simple. And then in Algebra 2 they had an independent problem solving activity so overall it’s a really light teaching day.

In my two planning periods I made some changes to the lessons that we talked about during our morning meeting, and also watched them install the new projector in my room. I’ll finally have a smartboard again! Or at the very least a wall-mounted projector. We’ve had a box projector on a projector cart in my room for two and a half years now and it’s in the say and annoying. So when we get back it should be good to go!

Right now I’m in my second IB Studies class while they work. I have to check to see who has already submitted their introductions and give any feedback necessary. I thought I might get to some grading today but after this class I have Algebra 2 again, and then I have to pack-up real quick so I can leave right when the day ends. We have off January 2nd, which is nice I guess, but I’d really, really rather have gotten today off so the commute home wouldn’t take 5 hours.

1:34pm – Scarfing down lunch so I can get out of here on time. My afternoon classes went the same as my first two classes, but I spent this last period

2:13pm – So as I was typing the last bit, my co-worker came in in a panic because she forgot to book her bus ticket. So I checked my own bus tickets and found out I booked them for the wrong direction. They’re fixed now but that was insanely stressful for a about ten minutes. Just made copies for Algebra 2 when we get back, and I’m just sitting here waiting for happy hour to start (since I now have an extra two hours before I get on a bus).

3:15pm – I straightened up my room a little bit but that’s it. I’m so ready for break that my brain isn’t functioning enough to grade or plan. Off to a week of not doing much work at all.

Leave a Reply

