Ain’t nobody got time for this

Big news: One’s first year of teaching is completely fucking insane.

After hearing Sam Shah talk about how much blogging helped him sort out teaching thoughts, I was determined to be gung-ho about it. I was going to document my daily struggles and stay positive and reflect and most importantly document it all so that I could look back in 5 years and laugh at the ideas I thought had merit but that any same person would realize don’t.

Then the year started and things got crazy. Two weeks into the year my principal sat me down and was like “I like this in theory, but change all of it.” And without going into too much detail as this blog is public, things got worse, culminating in a conversation the Friday before break that almost made me submit a letter of resignation before second semester hit. Things are better now (two weeks off does make a difference) but I’m still recovering from all of that.

There is one more week left in the semester. My classroom management has improved by leaps and bounds, my instruction less so, but it’s not terrible. Every day is kind of like Indiana Jones and that boulder but so far it’s only grazed me. As long as we ignore that my curriculum this year is not exactly logical.

All of this is to say that I totes dropped the ball on my MTBoS missions. There were some great things that I saw but didn’t take the time to comment on, and after week 3 I just lost track. I can say I’ll be better this semester but sleep and Breaking Bad will beat blogging (not that I have any illusions that the online teaching community has been losing sleep over my absence). And that’s ok. I still read so many other blogs and get so many ideas from Twitter.

TL; DR: too busy to blog but still alive.

2 thoughts on “Ain’t nobody got time for this

  1. Stay strong! The first year is ridiculously crazy. I’m half-way through my second year now, and I have to say that this second year is going 100 times better than my first year. I know that probably doesn’t help you now, but I want you to know that there is light at the end of the tunnel. Things will get better. And, sometimes things have to get worse before they can get better. I learned that the hard way last year!

    Remember – this is a strange and unique profession we have chosen. We will never master teaching. There will always be more to learn, better strategies to implement, areas to improve in. Don’t beat yourself up for having an imperfect first year. Every year of teaching will be imperfect. The only thing we can do is choose to press on and learn from past experiences.

  2. True fact – year one is crazy crazy crazy. But, you know what? As long as you fight to keep growing and keep learning, year after year is crazy and busy. I don’t say that to be discouraging. I say it to let you know that if you feel swamped, it is probably because you are (already) doing this job the right way. It’s exhausting and crazy and rewarding as all hell by its nature.

    Keep swinging!

Leave a Reply

